the womb

March 7, 2007

Our baby is due any day now, although the ‘date’ is not for another 2 weeks. Apparently, she is ‘poised’, head down, ready to make a move.

There have been several times when I’ve recalled my own birth, or, more accurately, my mum’s retelling of my own birth, an arrival that was primarily marked by the fact that I was both 2 weeks late and even then, my poor mother had to be induced.

I shared this a little hesitantly with A in case (feel free to laugh at this point) there was some genetic handing-down of reluctant birth syndrome, and she felt fated to a similar ordeal. In fact, she merely laughed in my face, and pointed out that even as an unborn child, I was so lazy that I felt no need to leave the womb, where all my nutritional needs were met, and I just floated around feeling rather warm and cosy.

2 Responses to “the womb”

  1. tracie said

    This is very exciting. I’m thrilled for you both, even though I don’t know either of you. This is all very reminiscent of the days leading up to both labors for us. Soon she will breathe through her mouth and not her belly button and life will change forever.

  2. John said

    I’ve been reading your blog for a few months and our baby is also due in the next few weeks.

    I just wanted to say thanks for sharing your thoughts and I wish you the very best for the future.

Comments are closed.

