rehearsals

February 27, 2007

This last week  there’s been a few opportunities to practise for the big day, as A and myself have attended some pre-natal classes, and also picked up some tips for labour. Although, given the nature of the woman’s ordeal, this could sound ridiculous, I wasn’t aware of quite how much the responsible male was meant to do.

Breathing, contractions, foot massages, warm bath, pacing up and down, reassurance, rubbing a small foam ball over the stomach and back…it’s all part of the game plan. The ‘calming influence’ is probably one of the more amusing (and, coincidentally, vital) roles I need to play, since everyday recently when A has had a one-off contraction, my reaction has been to bolt up with huge eyes and exclaim,”Is this it??!”

But of course, my role is the Supporting Actor to the stars of the show, and, when it really is ‘game on’, I’m looking forward to tossing my metaphorically well-worn script on the ground and bringing it home. And, as in most things, there’s plenty to be thankful for. Someone told me last week that there’s a tribe in the Brazilian interior where the man sits next to the woman during labour as she squeezes his penis in proportion to the amount of pain she is feeling at any one time.

Comments are closed.

