be ready

February 20, 2007

Well, in about a week’s time the baby would not be classified as ‘premature’ if born. So although going full term puts the birth in mid-March, in theory, if she’s good and ready, my expectancy might enter a new phase somewhat sooner…

And, unlike a trip to the cinema, or a dinner date, I can’t pencil this one in. It’ll just

happen.

Without (much) warning, the point that will forever separate ‘before’ and ‘after’ will arrive.

I feel like I should have some kind of detailed game plan written down, beyond the basics (e.g. call the doctor and go to the hospital rather promptly).  Some kind of motivational, chest-thumping, deep-breathing mantra to repeat aloud as I step into fatherhood.

But I think I’ll just go with the flow. One minute, I’ll be sitting around, working, perhaps reading a book, eating a bit of dinner…and the next. It’s game on.

Comments are closed.

