back again

February 6, 2007

Apologies for the delay in posting – last week was incredibly busy. The clock continues to count down, though since there’s another 5 or 6 weeks to go, I probably shouldn’t reference the countdown every post.

This last weekend A held her baby shower, or, as they call it here, ‘the tea of the baby’. This is not a tradition practised in Britain, though I think it’s common in the US. Fine by me, since many items on the ‘need to buy’ list were gleefully ticked off. That said, having a baby seems to be ludicrously expensive. We went into a popular store here to purchase a few more ‘essentials’ and it’s amazing just what you can buy. Of course, it’s no use asking the on-commission staff whether they think that a particular gizmo is required. Most packaging proclaims the necessity of ownership of the item for one’s baby’s health, colour awareness, and chances of getting into a good university (probably). As I reach for some alarming denominations of notes, I normally stifle observations such as ‘I remember being perfectly happy exploring the inside of a cardboard box’.

That said, I definitely enjoyed buying one of these kangaroo style pouches with which to carry the baby on your front, leaving both hands free for whatever other task you’re vainly trying to accomplish at the same time. It makes me feel like some kind of 21st century man to imagine strutting around, baby going before me whevever we wander,  attracting approving glances from women and looks of pity from men.

Comments are closed.

