ready

October 28, 2006

Excitement is somewhat overrated. That’s my conclusion. In my relatively short life, I have seen different countries and societies; some of them are stuck in deep poverty, struggling to breath under the weight of economic burdens, people eking out their lives on a day to day basis. Other times I have faced the occupation army and their guns, checkpoints and total control. I have never feared for my own life, but I have lived with people for whom sudden, bloody death is a part of everyday life. For whom life is a hard, grinding, struggle.

 

I have travelled alone, sleeping in motels, and seen so many bus stations that they fade into a blur of flickering strip lights, junk food cartons and naps stolen in the most uncomfortable of seats.

 

I have stood on railway bridges and street corners, been slumped in bars and cafés, heartbroken and lost.

 

It’s been good, by which I mean I’m glad I have experienced all of this. I wouldn’t be able to write this if I hadn’t.

 

But it’s enough. Now I’m ready to turn around, and see a small child run to their dad. Ready to take out the bins, and change a nappy. Ready for bath time, and keeping the voices down during bedtime. Ready for the fact that when I’m actually in it all, it won’t seem so attractive and will be hard. Today, at least, I feel ready.

2 Responses to “ready”

  1. tracie said

    Ready? After baby comes then you will sense what it also means to wonder if your child will experience the same life that the people of the difficult places you have visited experience.
    My son was born a day after the tsunami of Dec.26. I finally felt what anguish for the loss of a family member must be like. Not that my son was lost in the event but that I wanted to protect him from the harshness of the world yet I knew that there are harsh times ahead, just because the world can bring pain. Yet….the beauty and wonder of having children has to overtake any fear or concern for your child’s future. I’m learning to not worry when it’s not necessary. Get ready for a whole new set of emotions to kick in. It’s quite the ride.

  2. […] Responding to my previous post ‘ready‘, a visitor recently remarked that after the baby’s birth, “you will sense what it also means to wonder if your child will experience the same life that the people of the difficult places you have visited experience”. An interesting thought, and just today, a friend emailed me with a similar question: “has your political struggle now become a more personal one – raising a young life as the ultimate activism, and world changing endeavour?” […]

Comments are closed.

